DL1000 Chain Question (ordering question) - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
Go Back   Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums > Popular Forums > DL1000 - 2002-2012

DL1000 - 2002-2012 For those bikes with two pipes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 03:28 PM
$tromtrooper

Default DL1000 Chain Question (ordering question)

After a couple of hours scouring through the opinions of many, I'm about to order the DL1000 530 Chain and Sprocket Combination from SVRacing.

My question is, do I need to get the extra master links offered, and if so, which one? The clip on, the rivit on, or the screw on??? Most say it can save you in a jam to have the spare, but then...what special tool would I need to save my own arse should said spare be utilized?

Im new to chains and somewhat new to the forums. I truly appreciate your help/input.

Thanks

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2012, 03:43 PM
Stromthusiast!

I ordered the 525 stock chain set up with stock ratio sprockets. I prefer the press rivet set up so I ordered that type master link and bought 2. That way I had a spare if I screwed up on attempt 1 to rivet. Now that I am ready to replace my setup again, I have a spare master since the rivet process went just fine last time around.

So, if its your first try I would buy 2 master links. As for carrying a spare on the bike, you would need the rivet tool also. I have never had a rivet fail or the need to replace a chain on the road. My spare stays in the home tool box. You do realize the rivet type chain takes a special installation tool to break the old chain and rivet the new master link. Its an easy process if you watch the little parts and read the instructions.
2002 White HD Road King Police (divorced)
2000 Red Honda XR 400r
2003 Green Honda Rincon 650 ATV